"There is so much groovy music here..." WHERE TO START???

I recommend to
start with the HLFP-Samplers (especially HLFP 04).
Here you will come to know many of the bands/musicians featured in this blog. If you like what you hear, you may check out more of their music later on.
(You may also click on the picture on the sidebar and you will find the original post with download links.)

There is also a "FOCUS ON..." section. Here you will find albums that in my opinion are absolutely great (***** = "five-stars-recordings") and that are essential listening and strongly recommended for download.

Please don't send me any more music submissions

and emails until further announcement!

I TRY to RE-UP some stuff that has been down from time to

time, but I still don't have enough time to

listen to/post much new stuff.


IMPRESSUM: see here!

Friday, May 2, 2008

True Colour Of Blood - All Of The True Things I'm About To Tell You Are Lies (US 2008)

Is this part 4 of my little series called "A VISIT TO THE DARK SIDE"? Well, probably... On the other hand the overall mood of pieces like "Of" is that of calmness and meditation, not that of fear and anxiety. 
  • TRUE COLOUR OF BLOOD is the one-man-band project of Eric Kesner, and "All Of The True Things I'm About To Tell You Are Lies", released on the Gears Of Sand label in April 2008, is already the fifth TCOB realease. What you get is (mostly dark) ambient/drone music and if that is your thing, you clearly should check this one out. It's great. What makes it so special is (if I get it right), that all that you hear is guitar based – no computerized soundscapes, samplers or synthesizers were used.
  • The listening experience is similar to listening to "Zeit" from the year 1972 of the german electronic avantgarde band TANGERINE DREAM (though musically TCOB is of course somehow quite different): Pure cosmic beauty. Press the repeat button and listen to these tracks over and over. Listen to them all day and all night... and than you will get it. As Julian Cope remarked on "Zeit" (and he could as well have talked about TCOB): It doesn't matter, if you have to go to pee or make some tea in the meantime. When you come back, nothing much has changed. And that, in my opinion, is a great thing. And it's what ambient or drone music is all about. To go on a journey beyond the meaning of time and space...
  • Check out the very informative site of TCOB and also have a look at Myspace.
  • If you like the music, please support the artist!!!
(mp3 zip, 10 tracks, 93,9MB, 78 min)
1. Upon These Shores - 4.03
2. Tomorrow And Tomorrow And Tomorrow Creeps - 4.13
3. Of - 16.38
4. Defy - 6.06
5. Illegally Jailed For Applauding The Violent Death of A World Leader - 6.55
6. A Man Alone Is Simply God - 5.36
7. Once Was Blind But Now I'm Deaf - 4.45
8. Somnifer - 17.17
9. Sisyphus - 8.20
10. All Of The True Things I'm About To Tell You Are Lies - 3.46

1 comment:

Eric said...

I'm glad you like the album! Thanks for posting it and for the nice review.